Leave a comment

A Worse Idea 128

Anne drove up to the door of Prometheus’s garage. Normally, Sharise or Prometheus would open the garage door for her, since they could see her through the view monitor in the garage, which connected to the camera outside.

Not so, this time. But then again, this didn’t surprise Anne.

She parked her car, got out, and walked over to the garage door.

“Hey, Sharise?” Anne yelled.

“Christ,” Sharise muttered. Then, more loudly, “Girl, what the hell did you forget this time?”
“I, uh, didn’t forget anything.”

“Then why do you want to come in here?”

“To work?”

“You know, if you’re going to lie, you shouldn’t say the lie like it’s a question,” Sharise yelled back.

“Alright, to be one hundred percent honest, there are a bunch of killers who want to kill me.”

“And why would they want to kill you?”

“Because I’m basically a superhero,” Anne yelled. “I’m taking down some bad guys, so they’re coming after me.”

“Superhero?”

“Sure,” Anne said.

“You, a superhero?”

“That’s what I just said.”

“Yeah, but I don’t buy it.”

“What? Why? Like, haven’t you…. There are so many superheroes out there! Why is it sooooo impossible for me to be one of them?”

“You built a giant robot that tore through the city. You’re not a hero, super or otherwise.”

“Anti-hero?”

Sharise didn’t respond.

Anne turned her back to the garage door, leaning on it. She shuddered, though she couldn’t be sure if it was because of the temperature or her emotions.

“If you don’t let me in, I think I’m going to die.” Anne didn’t truly process that fact until she said it.

The wait seemed long and slow. But eventually, Sharise opened the garage door.

Next Chapter

Previous Chapter

Leave a Reply

