Leave a comment

A Bad Idea 128

“God, you’re such a bitch,” Cat told Anne. “You know I was going to take you guys shopping? Good luck with that now.”

Anne leaned on the door. “You’re a bigger bitch.”

“You’re such a bitch! The biggest bitch!” Cat yelled. “What is with you guys?”

“We were worried,” Shade said, “and you told me to fuck off.”

“I was trying to get to sleep!” Cat said.

“So you told me to fuck off?”

“I’d been kidnapped! I wasn’t thinking straight!”

“Your kidnapper let you keep your cellphone?” Shade’s voice dripped with disbelief.

“Kidnapped? That’s what you’re going with?” Anne’s back still leaned against the doorway. “Good luck with that.”

Cat adjusted the really expensive sunglasses she’d bought an hour ago. “You guys don’t understand! This guy was like a really incompetent kidnapper. Like, a really, really–”

“All I wanted was an apology,” Shade said.

“I’m sorry.”

Shade shook her head. “Not like that. That’s not what I meant.”

“Whatever,” Cat said, backing away from the door. “Call me when you’re feeling less weird.”

Cat stood there for a long moment, waiting to see if Shade would say anything.

She didn’t; Cat walked away.

“Are you going to?” Anne asked.

“What?” Shade said.

“Call her.”

Shade sighed. “Let’s not make it a thing.”

Next Chapter

Previous Chapter

Leave a Reply

