Leave a comment

A Bad Idea 118

One liquor store run and a bottle of tequila later, Shade and Anne sat on Anne’s couch, talking.

“I don’t want to talk about Cat anymore,” Shade said. “She’s always had her problems. I knew about them before. I just didn’t think she…”

“We can stop talking about Cat,” Anne said. “She does kind of piss me off, but that’s not even her fault.”

Silence.

“Whose fault is it?

“Nobody’s.” Anne poured the second-to-last shot of tequila into her glass. “Or mine, maybe. I don’t know.”

Shade smiled, thinking Anne’s cute when she’s stumbling over her words. In many ways, she could’ve thought ‘Anne’s always cute,’ since it would’ve meant the same thing.

“You mean you’re jealous, because you’re attracted to me.” The words stumbled out of Shade’s mouth.

“Well,” Anne said.

“I’ve known for a while.”

“You jackass.”

“I think it’s cute.” Shade nodded her head. “I think it’s real cute.”

“I…” Anne didn’t finish the sentence.

“You could be going a lot of places with that.”

“I don’t know. I don’t know where,” Anne said, trying to figure out what she was even saying, “I want to go.”

Shade poured the last shot into her glass, then downed it. “I think you’re cute, and I like your personality. We get along well, and it’s crazy how much we’ve been through together. I don’t know what we should do, and we probably aren’t in the sort of position to make big life decisions. Too much shit has happened to really know where things are going. But if we do something right now, do you promise not to get too attached? Can we just have a bit of fun?”

“A bit of fun.” Anne chewed over the words.

“You know what I mean?”

“Yeah.” Anne smiled. “Just a bit of fun.”

Next Chapter

Previous Chapter

Leave a Reply

