Leave a comment

A Bad Idea 86

“Alright,” Anne said, standing there, “I’m frozen. You’re a cop. There are two ambassadors staring at us in confusion.”

“That’s, uh, right,” Superfreak said, trying desperately to get back into character, to become a cop again. But he was distracted by the knowledge that the getaway car had left without them. “You’re right, man. I’m a cop. You’re a bad guy. We’re frozen here.”

“What’s–” one of the ambassadors (seriously no one gives a shit which one) began to say, but was cut off.

“So what I’m going to do here,” Superfreak said, “what I’m going to do is, I’m going to arrest you, you know, man?”

“Yeah,” Anne said. “Yeah. Okay. I see where you’re going with this. I’m a bad guy. You’re arresting me.”

“Right, right,” Superfreak said. “Yeah, we’re on the same page here. You’re under arrest.”

The Fleminicki ambassadors were confused — let there be no doubt about that — but they hadn’t seen many earthlings get arrested before. So they chalked up the oddness to some form of cultural confusion on their part.

“Because I’m a bad guy,” Anne said, a little too honestly.

“Yeah,” Superfreak said. “But there’s a problem, you see, man? I, uh, I was sharing a cop car with this other cop, you see? But he just got called for another crime, a big one, big crime.”

“Right,” Anne said. “Crime. Big. Yeah. Uh-huh. So we–” She coughed. “You don’t have a car?”

“Exactly,” Superfreak said, “Can’t arrest you without a car.”

“Can’t use mine either,” Anne said, “I walked here.”

“Okay. I see. Yeah.” He turned his attention towards the ambassadors. “I’m going to need to borrow one of your guys’s cars.”

One of the ambassadors took out his car keys. Before he handed them over, he said, “Is this normal?”

“Eminent domain, man.” Superfreak swiped the keys away from the ambassador. “Look it up.”

And so he and Anne walked out the embassy, much to everyone else’s confusion.

Next Chapter

Previous Chapter

Leave a Reply

