2 Comments

A Bad Idea 14

A part of Anne felt relieved: David no longer had any reason to hit her. At the same time, her stomach gnawed at her.

“This is dumb,” she said, standing up. “I’m sorry I came here.”

“Look–” David began to say, but Anne cut him off.

“I’m not mad that you snooped on me. I’m not exactly trustworthy. I get it. Really. But this is dumb.”

Mud sighed.

Anne continued, “You’re just trying to make me feel included. But to do that, you had to spy on me. Everyone here has to be on edge. It’s a nice thought, but this isn’t inclusive. It’s just… Thanks, but no.”

Anne began walking towards the door, but David said, “Ricky’s gone.”

Anne turned her head so that she was looking at David through one eye. “And? You vigilantes are always getting lost in space, or in someone’s lair, or whatever. Off having your own adventures.”

“He was looking into you,” David said. “Do you know what happened to him?”

“No,” Anne said.

“You didn’t do anything to him?”

“I’m a good person,” Anne said. She hoped he believed her. She wondered if she believed herself.

“I’m a good person,” she muttered, walking out of the house with her head down. David stood there, not knowing what to say.

As Anne walked away from the house, she heard a piercing scream — Marja’s.

She kept walking.

Next Chapter

Previous Chapter

2 comments on “A Bad Idea 14

  1. The funny thing is, I think I believe her. Anne’s a good person, who makes REALLY bad decisions, and doesn’t seem to have the best luck either. Then again, the lying and the spying doesn’t seem too hard for her, so maybe there’s some unreliable narrator thrown in here too. It’s kind of hard to classify her.

    Like

  2. Wait, so does she know who Marja is already? It seems that way, but I thought she came in like, “Ooh, something’s to be had about this Marja person who won’t leave her bedroom.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

